Cisterns of Romance

A bathroom suite in six movements
By The Barry Jeffries

1989 | Audio CD-R | ??:??


Recorded in Steve’s Living Room at various practices in 1989.

Simon : voice
Dave : guitar
Steve : guitar

This record should be played at one sitting.

…whatsoever entereth in at the mouth goeth into the belly, and is cast out into the draught. But those things which proceed out of the mouth come forth from the heart; and they defile the man. For out of the heart proceed evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witness, blasphemies. These are the things which defile a man: but to eat with unwashen hands defileth not a man.
– Matthew xv, 17-20

For songs so preoccupied with excretory processes, it seems strange that no flatulence is audible on these recordings. Belches, coughs, sneezes, sniffles, hiccoughs and much laughter, but no farts.
– Prof. Jason Crest

Track listing

01 : pro-log : laugh? i nearly did!
02 : lavatory lady
03 : i am the janitor
04 : barry jeffries’ cock
05 : dial ‘d’ for diarrhoea
06 : … khazi
07 : rock-‘n’-roll toilet
08 : … khazi (shite returd)
09 : evacuation

All songs by The Barry Jeffries except (7) by Robyn Hitchcock.